Tasty Tuesday

I would like to explain the reason for the title, I would like to feature a recipe each Tuesday. Sometimes an easy quick meal at others a little more complicated. And recipes for all occasions, so just like the wine suggestions, I would love for you to email me your recipe selections and meal ideas as well and I will feature them one by one on Tuesday. I know for me there are times when I simply don’t know what to cook, I want something new and different but I am not sure what to do so dinner ideas would be great so! I hope it will be of use to everyone. So here is the first recipe, I tried this recipe because I saw it and wondered how the slight variation in a dish I made up myself and make often for my children would change the flavour. When I first made it against my usual behaviours I followed it to the letter, now I alter it for the way that I cook, seasoning my chicken as I choose that enhance the flavours it presents, etc. I now use it more as a guideline then a rule and in the end it truly is a great recipe. Note however it only yields 2 servings clearly I have to alter it for my family size LOL and you will have to do the same. Also I do not make baked potatoes in the microwave so that too is an alteration that I make to this recipe and finally cooking chicken in the oven for 15 minutes I have never done and I alter this as well when preparing this recipe but beyond that and all in all with the alterations one may need to make for this recipe to work for them this recipe is a must try.

Easy Caramelised Chicken

Ingredients

1 teaspoon dried thyme

2 tablespoons ketchup

2 tablespoons dark brown sugar

3 tablespoons olive oil

3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

4 chicken legs

1/2 teaspoon dried red pepper flakes or chili paste

4 large red onions, peeled and cut into wedges

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

10 cherry tomatoes on the vine

2 tablespoons dark soy sauce

4 large baking potatoes, to serve

Yield:   2 Servings

Directions                                                 Prep: 5 min Total

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F. Put all the marinade ingredients in a big plastic bag and add the chicken and the onion wedges. Shake around so that all the ingredients get well coated in the marinade.
  2. When you are ready to cook, put the chicken legs into a roasting dish with the marinade, onions, and tomatoes. Cook in the oven for 15 to 20 minutes until the chicken is cooked through. The tomatoes should burst and the onions will go crispy around the edges. Meanwhile, cook the potatoes in the microwave at 800W for 8 minutes — add to the oven with the chicken when they are done to crisp up the skins.
  3. To serve, put the potatoes on plates and add the chicken, roast tomatoes, and onion together with the marinade.
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://in7thheaven.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/tasty-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

